Skip to main content


Undergraduate Committee

This committee considers and acts on all curricular and program actions proposed by the various departments in the college at the undergraduate level. The committee also serves as a two-way conduit of information regarding updates to college and university policies. The membership consists of:

  • Departmental director of undergraduate programs; often an Associate Department Head.
  • A second member, at the department’s discretion. Often this person serves as a course and curricula specialist.
  • Ryan Hurley, Communication
  • Steven Greene, Political Science, SPIA
  • Jason Swarts, English
  • Daniel Gruehn, Psychology
  • Sarah Bowen, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Stephen Puryear, Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Seth Murray, Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Will Kimler, History
  • Scott Despain, Foreign Language and Literatures
  • TBA, Social Work

Dean’s Office Members:

  • Karen Young, Assistant Dean and Director of Undergraduate Programs
  • Daniel Gruehn, College Standards Coordinator
  • Hope Ziglar, Student Services Manager
  • Allen Emory, Executive Assistant for Academic Affairs

Questions: Karen Young

Directors of Graduate Programs (DGP) Committee

This committee considers and acts on all curricular and program actions proposed by the various departments in the college at the graduate level.

  • John Millhauser, Anthropology (M.A.)
  • James Kiwanuka-Tondo, Communication (M.S.)
  • David Rieder, Communication, Rhetoric and Digital Media  (Ph.D.)
  • Belle Boggs,, English/Creative Writing (MFA)
  • James Mulholland, English (M.A.)
  • Huiling Ding, English/Technical Communication (MS)
  • James Michnowicz, Standards Coordinator and Foreign Languages and Literature (M.A.)
  • Heidi Hobbs, International Studies (MIS)
  • Mike Garval, MALS (M.A.)
  • Stephen Puryear, Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Mary Wyer, Psychology (M.S., Ph.D.) and College ABGS Rep
  • Rich Clerkin, Public Administration (M.P.A.)
  • Branda Nowell, Public Administration (Ph.D.)
  • Brent Sirota, History, Public History (M.A., Ph.D.)
  • Kim Stansbury,  Social Work (MSW)
  • Steve McDonald, Sociology (M.S., Ph.D.)

Directors of Undergraduate Advising (DUA) Committee

  • Suzanne Rabon, Social Work
  • Shannon Carey, Political Science
  • Catherine Driscoll, Philosophy/Religious Studies
  • LaShica Waters, Leadership in Public Sector
  • Christina Hobbs, Psychology
  • Hope Ziglar, College of Humanities and Social Science-Dean’s Office
  • Will Kimler, History
  • Dara Leeder, College of Humanities and Social Science-Dean’s Office
  • Susan Navey-Davis, Foreign Language
  • Meredith Fosque, English
  • William Smith, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Sandy Stallings, Communication
  • Karen Young, College of Humanities and Social Science-Dean’s Office
  • Bruce Cheek, IDS

Diversity Action Committee

At the beginning of each academic year, the Diversity Action Committee meets to take stock of diversity, equity and inclusion activities of the previous year and make decisions about activities for the upcoming year. The DAC then meets as needed during the year. The DAC, the college dean and the dean’s emergency team members also meet as needed.

  • Assistant Dean for Diversity, Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi
  • Communication, Elizabeth Nelson
  • English, Jason Miller
  • Foreign Languages and Literatures, Eika Tai
  • History, Noah Strote
  • Interdisciplinary Studies, Karey Harwood
  • Philosophy and Religious Studies, Tim Hinton
  • Psychology, Jing Feng
  • Social Work, Nashia Whittenburg
  • Sociology and Anthropology, Melvin Thomas
  • SPIA, Lada Kochtcheeva
  • Dean’s Office, Crissy Williams
  • Assoc. Dean’s Office, Joe Johnson
  • Staff Senate, Sarah Willis

Questions? Contact: Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi,

Research Committee

This committee encourages and actively supports research and scholarship within and across the college.

  • Communication, Vicki Gallagher
  • English, Jeff Mielke
  • Foreign Languages and Literatures, Rebecca Ronquest
  • History, Ross Bassett
  • Philosophy and Religious Studies, John Carroll (Fall) and Stephen Puryear (Spring)
  • Political Science, Robert Reardon
  • Psychology, Shevaun Neupert
  • Public Administration, Christopher Galik
  • Social Work, Qiana Cryer-Coupet
  • Sociology and Anthropology, Steve McDonald

International Programs Committee

Consistent with NC State’s goal of producing future global leaders and world citizens, the mission of the college’s International Programs Committee is to help equip students with the knowledge and experiences needed to be successful in an international environment.

To achieve its mission, the committee:

  • Works with faculty and administrators in the establishment and evaluation of programs and opportunities that enhance international engagement.
  • Advises on issues concerning the International Studies major, the academic integrity of study abroad programs that involve college faculty or courses, and the worthiness of applications for study abroad scholarship support.
  • Assists in seeking funding that supports study abroad, international students who matriculate in the college and other university efforts aimed at internationalization.
  • Dr. Clifford Griffin, Chair
  • Dr. James Kiwanuka-Tondo (Communication)
  • Dr. Tim Wallace (Soc/Ant)
  • Dr. Gary Comstock (Phil/Rel)
  • Dr. John Begeny (Psychology)
  • Dr. Lada Kochtcheeva (SPIA)
  • Dr. Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi (English)
  • Dr. John Mertz (FLL)
  • Dr. Linda Williams (Social Work)
  • Dr. Joseph Palis (IDS)
  • Dr. Haydon Cherry (History)
  • Allen Emory (Executive Assistant to Associate Dean for Academic Affairs)

Reappointment, Promotions and Tenure Committee

The primary purpose of the committee is to review dossiers and endorse (or oppose) candidates for reappointment, promotion and tenure by assessing whether the departments themselves have acted fully in accord with their own procedural and substantive standards.

The college’s Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee will consist of seven tenured full professors, five elected by departments and two appointed by the dean in the interests of balance and diversity. More details are on the university’s policies site.

2020-2021 Members

  • Craig Friend (History)
  • Marina Bykova (Philosophy and Religious Studies)
  • Helga Braunbeck (Foreign Languages and Literatures)
  • Jerrell Coggburn (School of Public and International Affairs)
  • Steve McDonald (Sociology and Anthropology)
  • Barbara Bennett (English)
  • Adriana de Souza e Silva (Communication) 

Questions? Contact Crissy Williams 919-513-1828

SHRA Advisory Group

This group meets once a semester, or as needed, as a forum for staff to discuss issues or concerns with the dean and other college administrators, and for college leaders to share information pertinent to staff. The group includes one SHRA representative from each college department, the dean’s executive assistant, and a Staff Senate representative.

Questions? Contact Crissy Williams.

  • Laura Kelly, Communication
  • Stephanie McBroom, English
  • Faye Walker, Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Courtney Hamiliton, History
  • Ann Rives, Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Lillie Kirby, School of Public and International Affairs
  • Julia Matthews-McClain, Psychology
  • Linda Orlandi, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Renna Gobble, Social Work
  • Crissy Williams-Brown, Dean’s office
  • Melissa Jackson, Staff Senate Representative