Skip to main content

Jermaine Hudson Wins Student Media’s Phillips Award

Hudson shakes hands with Dean Phillips

Jermaine Hudson, a third-year student studying social work and psychology, was awarded Student Media’s second annual Dean Phillips Award for General Excellence on April 11.

The current design editor of Agromeck, Hudson will take over as the publication’s editor-in-chief with the 2023-2024 edition. Hudson also serves as a senior photographer, taking photo assignments for all of Student Media’s print publications. His writing and design work has been recognized by the North Carolina College Media Association along with an honorable mention for Design of the Year from the 2022 Associated Collegiate Press individual awards.

Hudson's design of a page inside the Agromeck about Pan-Afrikan Week 2022 at NC State.
Jermaine Hudson’s “Embracing the BlackXperience” design chronicling Pan-Afrikan Week for the 2022 Agromeck was an honorable mention for Design of the Year in the 2022 Associated Collegiate Press individual awards.

“Jermaine is always working, every time I set foot in the office he’s writing an article for Agromeck, editing photos for photo staff or doing layout for Agromeck,” wrote Ethan Rimolt, Technician photo editor and one of Hudson’s nominators. “He does so much for Student Media and I don’t think it would be running as smoothly as it does without his dedication and love for media.”

“Not only is he such a dedicated worker, but Jermaine also constantly puts smiles on everyone’s faces with his humorous nature and good heart,” echoed Roundabout photo editor Emily Peedin, who also nominated Hudson. “He remains constantly communicative and helpful, while still making sure his own work is high-quality. I truly believe that he is someone for everyone to look up to and emulate in the office.”

Hudson will receive a $250 award from the Student Media Enhancement Fund and his name will be placed on a perpetual plaque hung in a place of honor on the third floor of Witherspoon Student Center.

Named for a long-time NC State Student Media Board of Directors member, the Phillips Award is open to all Student Media students except its senior leaders, who vote on the eventual winner as ex-officio members of the board. Eleven students were nominated by their peers for the award in its second year. 

Dean Phillips, who continues to serve on the board since joining it as a charter member in 2007, is a multi-award-winning Senior Lecturer Emeritus from the NC State Department of Communication. 

This post was originally published in DASA.