Skip to main content
Faculty and Staff

Celebrating Our Outstanding Staff

Staff award recipients stand with Dean Dannels and Mr. Wuf
NC State Award for Excellence nominees and winners stand with Dean Dannels and Mr. Wuf at the college's 2022 staff recognition luncheon. Photo: Robert Bell.

The college celebrated its outstanding staff at a recent luncheon honoring its problem solvers, outstanding planners, brilliant strategists and supportive advisors.

Nine staff from across the college were nominated by their peers and supervisors for NC State Awards for Excellence. The 2022 nominees were:

  • Donise Benton, Department of Communication
  • Andy Fotioo, School of Public and International Affairs
  • Ingrid Hoffius, Department of History
  • Susan Leonard, School of Public and International Affairs
  • Julia Matthews-McClain, Department of Psychology
  • Kelly Schwehm, School of Public and International Affairs
  • Erin Seiling, Department of History
  • Karen Young, Academic Affairs
  • Hope Ziglar, Academic Affairs

The college’s two Award for Excellence winners were Donise Benton and Erin Seiling. Other nominees received Pride of the Wolfpack certificates that recognize NC State employees for special and unique contributions.

Winners from each of the university’s colleges will be recognized at the NC State Awards for Excellence ceremony. Five individuals will receive special distinction at that event and advance as candidates for the Governor’s Awards for Excellence, the highest honor awarded to a state employee.

“We continue to lead as a strong and vibrant college, and each and every one of you is vital to the success of our students, our faculty, administrators like myself, our college, and the university as a whole,” Dean Deanna Dannels told the gathering at the annual recognition luncheon. “Today, we honor you. As I hope you have heard me say before, it is an absolute privilege to work alongside you throughout the year.”

The college awards program also recognized staff members who have reached milestone years in their careers with the state:

5 years of service

  • Samantha Fowler, Department of English
  • Ingrid Hoffius, Department of History
  • Joanna King, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Susan Leonard, School of Public and International Affairs
  • Michelle Strickland, School of Social Work
  • Gail Bass, Department of Psychology
  • Vijaya Natu, Department of Psychology

10 years of service

  • LaShica Waters, School of Public and International Affairs
  • Laura Kelly, Department of Communication
  • Lindsey Barbee, Department of Psychology

15 years of service

  • Allen Emory, Academic Affairs
  • Christopher Mayes, CHASS IT
  • Vijay Tailor, CHASS IT
  • Jenny King, Center for Family and Community Engagement

20 years of service

  • Justin Daves, CHASS IT