Skip to main content

Alumna Barbara Goodmon Honored With Watauga Medal

Pictured from left to right: Steve Zelnak, Gayle Lanier, Barbara Goodmon and Steve Warren. Photo credit to Giving News.

Humanities and Social Sciences alumna Barbara Goodmon was one of four individuals to recently receive the Watauga Medal, NC State’s highest nonacademic honor, during the annual Founders’ Day celebration on March 3 at Talley Student Union.

Chancellor Randy Woodson and Dr. Jim Owens, chair of the university’s Board of Trustees, presented medals to Barbara Goodmon, Gayle Lanier, Steve Warren and Steve Zelnak in recognition of their notable and distinguished contributions and commitment to the advancement of NC State.

Goodmon, who earned her M.A. in Liberal Studies in 2000, has served on the College of Humanities and Social Sciences Dean’s Advisory Board and the Veterinary Medicine Foundation Board. Along with her husband, Jim, she is a member of the W.J. Peele Lifetime Giving Society, in support of areas including the Institute for Nonprofits, Caldwell Fellows, NC State Student Aid Association, College of Humanities and Social Sciences and more.

A longtime Raleigh resident who is president and former executive director of the A.J. Fletcher Foundation, Goodmon was a leader in the establishment of the Institute for Nonprofits and continues to support that program, its external advisory board and related programs such as the Philanthropy Journal, as well as the university’s nonprofit studies program, with her service and counsel.

Goodmon has been a mentor, leader and advocate for education that prepares students to make an impact, Woodson said during Friday’s medal presentation.

“Barbara Goodmon has never been content to simply make an impact on her own. She has always encouraged others to think big, as well,” Woodson said. “Barbara is a collaborator, a relationship builder and a champion of experiential learning who dreams globally and acts locally.”

Including the four 2017 recipients, 115 people have been honored with the Watauga Medal for giving of their time, talents and resources to support NC State’s continued success — and in turn for contributing to the success of public higher education and the state of North Carolina. The Board of Trustees initiated the recognition program in 1975 and many past recipients attend the ceremony each year. A broad-based committee reviews nominations and makes recommendations for finalists, which are reviewed by the chancellor before going before the Board of Trustees for medalist selection.