Skip to main content

Faculty Event Honors Scholars Who Think and Do

Humanities and Social Sciences Dean Jeff Braden addresses faculty at the college's 2016 Faculty Awards reception on Wednesday, April 27, 2016.

Humanities and Social Sciences honored its top scholars who Think and Do on April 27 at the college’s annual awards reception.

Department heads from across the college joined Dean Jeff Braden in recognizing faculty for outstanding research, advising, teaching and extension service. The 13 faculty members who received college awards are:

  • Anna Bigelow, Associate Professor of Religious Studies, Outstanding Teacher Award.
  • Tim Stinson, Associate Professor of English, Outstanding Teacher Award.
  • Jason Swarts, Professor of English, Outstanding Graduate Professor Award.  
  • Nicholas Taylor, Assistant Professor of Communication, Lonnie and Carol Poole Award for Excellence.
  • James Knowles, Teaching Assistant Professor of English, Outstanding Lecturer Award.
  • William Kimler, Associate Professor of History, Outstanding Advisor Award.
  • Kathleen Vogel, Associate Professor of Science, Technology and Society and of Political Science, Outstanding Advisor Award.
  • Greg Dawes, Professor of Foreign Languages and Literatures, Outstanding Research Award.
  • Tom Hess, Professor of Psychology, Outstanding Research Award.
  • Tom Parker, Professor of History, Outstanding Research Award.
  • Katherine Charron, Associate Professor of History, Outstanding Extension Service Award.
  • Marsha Gordon, Associate Professor of Film Studies, Outstanding Extension Service Award.
  • Jeni Burnette, Assistant Professor of Psychology, Outstanding Junior Faculty Award.

The college also recognized a number of faculty who received university awards, prestigious fellowships and other accolades. They are:

  • Rupert Nacoste, Professor of Psychology, Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence.
  • Walt Wolfram, William C. Friday Distinguished University Professor of English linguistics, Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award.
  • John Carroll, Professor of Philosophy, Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award.
  • Paul Fyfe, Associate Professor of English, Alumni Association Outstanding Teacher Award.
  • Denis Gray, Professor of Psychology, Alumni Association Outstanding Extension Award.
  • Adriana de Souza e Silva, Associate Professor of Communication, University Faculty Scholar.
  • Sarah Desmarais, Associate Professor of Psychology, University Faculty Scholar.
  • Branda Nowell, Associate Professor of Public Administration, University Faculty Scholar.
  • Jeffrey Reaser, Associate Professor of English, Undergraduate Research Student Advisory Council Lifetime Mentoring Award.
  • Leila May, Associate Professor of English, Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching nominee.
  • Akram Khater, Professor of History, Gov. James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award nominee.
  • Lori Foster, Professor of Psychology, O. Max Gardner Award nominee.
  • Matthew Booker, Associate Professor of History, 2016 National Humanities Center Fellow.
  • Megan Cherry, Assistant Professor of History, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Fellow.
  • Heidi Hobbs, Associate Professor of Political Science, Fulbright Specialist Grant recipient.
  • Bob Kochersberger, Associate Professor of English, Fulbright Scholar.
  • James Mulholland, Associate Professor of English, 2016 American Council of Learned Societies Frederick Burkhardt Fellow.
  • Steven Vincent, Professor of History, Institute for Advanced Study Fellow.
  • Kathleen Vogel, Associate Professor of Political Science, 2016 Jefferson Science Fellow.