Skip to main content

Three of Four 2013 Mathews Medalists are CHASS Students

Mathews Medalists Andy Walsh, Mary Charles Hale, Emily Tucker and Josh Privette.

Three of the four seniors receiving the Mathews Medal this year are CHASS students. The Mathews Medal is the highest non-academic distinction awarded to NC State students, and is reserved for those who have made significant contributions based on leadership and service.

The Mathews Medal is modeled after the Watauga Medal and is administered by the Alumni Association Student Ambassador Program. It is named for Walter Jerome Mathews, the first student to arrive on the campus of the N.C. College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts in 1889.

This year’s recipients are:

Mary Charles Hale, a Park Scholar majoring in English, served as a Service Leadership Team committee member for the Center for Student Leadership, Ethics, and Public Service. She led a service trip to the Dominican Republic as a junior and directed NC State’s 125th anniversary homecoming celebration, the largest student-led homecoming in the country. Hale is from Morehead City, NC.

Josh Andrew Privette majored in political science. He was transportation and campus safety chair when he served on the Alumni Association Student Ambassador Program. He represented student interests when he served on the Physical Environment Standing committee, streamlining access to campus departments for students. Privette is from Wendell, NC.

Andy Walsh, a political science major, served as NC State’s student body president. He was a member of Phi Beta Kappa and served in the Alumni Association Student Ambassador Program, where he implemented the university’s Tradition Keepers program known as The Brick. He also oversaw the Coaches’ Corner project aimed at celebrating NC State’s most beloved coaches. Walsh is from Pittsboro, NC.

Emily Tucker was a Park Scholar who majored in industrial engineering, served on the University Affairs committee as a student senator and founded the Reusable Regatta, a raft race to on Lake Raleigh to promote campus sustainability. She also chaired the Krispy Kreme Challenge and served as president of the Institute of Industrial Engineers. Tucker is from Gaithersburg, Md.

Adapted from a posting on The Alumni Assocation‘s website.