Skip to main content

2010 Faculty Awards

CHASS faculty awards were presented on April 29, 2010.

UNC Board of Governors’ Teaching Award Rupert Nacoste (Psychology) was the CHASS nominee for the university’s most prestigious teaching award (not pictured).

The NC State Alumni Outstanding Research Award is among the highest honors a faculty member can receive at the university. Dr. Joan Pennell, founding director of the Center for Family and Community Engagement (CFACE), and professor in the Department of Social Work, was one of three faculty members across the university to receive the prestigious award this year. Pennell is an internationally recognized expert in her field, having spent more than 30 years building knowledge about how countries, state, counties, cities and schools can address the dynamics of family violence and the needs of children in these homes. Her research advances understanding about the importance of providing safe, healthy, productive environments for children and families. This year, the Center for Family and Community Engagement was formally authorized by the University’s Board of Trustees. CFACE builds on Pennell’s strong research agenda and her consistent and considerable external funding, totaling more than $6.5 million since her arrival at NC State in 1998. The Center has provided a core around which faculty, students, staff and community groups collaborate to conduct highly engaged scholarship in North Carolina, the nation, and around the world.

Jason Bivens

University Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Jason Bivins (Religious Studies) was named a University Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor by the NC State Alumni Association.


Michael Schwalbe

University Alumni DistinguishedGraduate Professor   James Kiwanuka-Tondo (Communication) and Michael Schwalbe (Sociology) were the CHASS nominees for the University Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor, an award given by the NC State Alumni Association. Schwalbe was this year’s CHASS recipient. Schwalbe is pictured at right.


2009 Outstanding Teachers CHASS recognizes our outstanding teachers with college-wide awards. Recipients are inducted into the NC State University Academy of Outstanding Teachers. The 2009-2010 Outstanding Teachers are:

  • Steven Greene, Political ScienceSteven Greene
  • Karey Harwood, Religious StudiesKarey Harwood
  • Jeffrey Reaser, EnglishJeffrey Reaser

Christopher CrosbieLonnie and Carol Lynn Poole Award Christopher Crosbie (English) received the Lonnie and Carol Lynn Poole Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Steven HeinerCHASS Outstanding Lecturer Award Steven Heiner, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies, won the CHASS Outstanding Lecturer Award.

CHASS Outstanding Junior Faculty Award Shevaun Neupert (Psychology) received the CHASS Outstanding Junior Faculty Award (not pictured). This award recognizes the assistant professor in the College judged to have the most significant professional accomplishments during the first years of his or her career at NC State. Other nominees were Adriana de Souza e Silva (Communication), Shelley Garrigan (Foreign Languages and Literatures), Steve McDonald (Sociology and Anthropology), Branda Nowell (Public Administration), and Jeffrey Reaser (English).  

Greg DawesCHASS Alumni Distinguished Research Award Greg Dawes (Foreign Languages and Literatures) and Joan Pennell (Social Work) were the CHASS nominees of the NC State Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award. Dawes was chosen as this year’s recipient . Dawes is pictured at right.

University Outstanding Extension Awards The University Outstanding Extension Award recognizes excellence and promotes collaborative and interdisciplinary contributions with off-campus constituencies. Jessica Jameson (Communication) and William Smith (Sociology and Anthropology) were CHASS nominees. Smith received the Outstanding Extension Service Award and was inducted into the Academy of Outstanding Faculty Engaged in Extension.

An interdisciplinary team led by Jessica Katz Jameson (Communication) received an inaugural Opal Mann Green Engagement Scholarship Award for the Nonprofit Board Communication Initiative, which resulted in a training and development curriculum for nonprofit boards members. The team was recognized at an event celebrating the university’s engagement with the wider community on April 19, 2010.

Pictured, left to right, are CHASS Dean Jeff Braden; Regina Petteway, Director, Office of Community Affairs, Wake County Human Services; Susan Jakes, NCSU  Extension Specialist, Family & Community Development; Jean Williams, Executive Director, Women’s Center Wake County; Richard Dunnegan, President, Triangle Radio Reading Service Board of Directors; Jessica Katz Jameson, Associate Professor, Communication; Barbara Metelsky, Doctoral Student, Educational Leadership & Policy Studies; Mardi Hack, President-elect, Meals on Wheels Wake County Board of Directors; Jim Zuiches, Vice Chancellor, Office of Extension, Engagement, & Economic Development; Pat Sobrero,Associate Vice Chancellor, Office of Extension, Engagement, & Economic Development; and Alan Winstead, Executive Director, Meals on Wheels Wake County. Team members not pictured are Sue Bracken, Associate Professor, Educational Leadership & Policy Studies; Stan Holt, Doctoral Student, Public Administration; Ann Akland, NAMI Wake County Board Past-president; Frank Edwards, NAMI Wake County Board Past-president; Robin Landsman, Wake County Extension Agent; and Linda Ornt, Executive Director, Triangle Radio Reading Service.

Frank J. Smith (Psychology) was awarded the Jackson Rigney International Service Award at the annual banquet of the NC State chapter of Sigma Iota Rho (The Honor Society for International Studies).  The award is given in recognition of outstanding research and scholarship through international collaboration.  Each year, the Eta chapter of  Sigma Iota Rho at NC State awards the Jackson Rigney Service Award to recognize the distinguished contributions of a faculty or staff member at North Carolina State University to the promotion of international understanding and service to the University and to the international community.  Funding for the Award is provided through the Jackson A Rigney International Endowment in the North Carolina State University Foundation.