Skip to main content

2007 Faculty Awards

CHASS faculty awards were presented on May 1, 2007.

Professor of Psychology Rupert Nacoste was the CHASS nominee for the UNC Board of Governors’ Teaching Award. This university award, coordinated by the Office of the Provost, is the most prestigious award given to faculty for teaching excellence.

Professor of Psychology Amy Halberstadt was one of six University Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professors selected by the NC State Alumni Association.

Professor of Psychology Denis Gray and Professor of English John Kessel were the CHASS nominees for  the University Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor. This award is given by the NC State Alumni Association.  Gray received the university award.

CHASS recognizes our outstanding teachers with college-wide awards. Recipients are inducted into the NC State University Academy of Outstanding Teachers. The 2007 Outstanding Teachers are:

  • William Adler, Philosophy and Religion
  • Wilton Barnhardt, English
  • Lori Foster Thompson, Psychology

Barnhardt received the university award.

Professor of Psychology Lynne Baker-Ward received the Lonnie and Carol Lynn Poole Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Diane Beckman, from the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, won the CHASS Outstanding Lecturer Award.

Melinda Sopher, Department of Communication, and Nehal Outlaw , Department of Social Work, are this year’s winners of the CHASS Outstanding Advising Awards. Nominations for these awards come from our students.

Adam Meade , Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology, received the CHASS Outstanding Junior Faculty Award. This award recognizes the assistant professor in the College judged to have the most significant professional accomplishments during the first years of his or her career at NC State.

Other nominees were:

  • Anne Baker , Assistant Professor, English
  • Mark Anthony Darhower , Assistant Professor, Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Adriana de Souza e Silva , Assistant Professor, Communication

Mark Sosower, Foreign Languages and Literatures, was the CHASS nominee and recipient of the NC State Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award. Sosower received the university award.         

Joan Pennel, Head of the Department of Social Work, was the recipient of the CHASS Outstanding Research Award.

University Outstanding Extension Awards recognize excellence and promote collaborative and interdisciplinary contributions with off-campus constituencies. Neal Hutcheson, videographer in the Department of English was the recipient of this year’s award.