Skip to main content

College Honors Exceptional Scholars, Advisors and Teachers

Group picture of faculty members at awards ceremony
Faculty members gather in Caldwell Lounge to celebrate outstanding scholarship, advising and teaching in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

NC State’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences honored its top scholars, advisors and teachers this month during a reception for new and returning faculty and staff.

Faculty members from across the college joined Dean Jeff Braden in Caldwell Lounge to recognize outstanding research, advising, teaching and engagement over the past year. Here are some of those who are excelling in and out of the classroom:

  • Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service: Walt Wolfram (English)
  • Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, college nominee: Jessica Jameson (communication)
  • Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, college nominees: Tom Hess (psychology), Victoria Gallagher (communication)
  • NC State Faculty Scholars: Laura Widman (psychology), Robin Dodsworth (English)
  • NC State Outstanding Engagement Award: RaJade Berry-James (public administration)
  • NC State Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor Award, college recipient: Steve Wiley (communication)
  • Lawrence M. Clark Faculty Development Award: Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi (English)
  • Research Leadership Academy and Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award: Elaine Orr (English)
  • Alumni Association Outstanding Teacher Awards: Marina Bykova (philosophy), Jim Michnowicz (foreign languages and literatures), Jorge Marí (foreign languages and literatures)
  • Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor Award: Craig Friend (history)
  • Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award: Karey Harwood (religious studies)
  • Outstanding Junior Faculty for Humanities: Grant Bollmer (communication)
  • Outstanding Junior Faculty for Social Sciences: Elan Hope (psychology)
  • College Outstanding Social Scientist Award: Jennifer Kuzma (Goodnight-North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Distinguished Professor in the School of Public and International Affairs)
  • College Outstanding Lecturer: Dean Bruno (history)
  • College Outstanding Advisor Award: Erin Seiling (history)
  • NC State New Faculty Advisor Award: Gene Melton II (English)

The college also recognized faculty members who recently received prestigious awards from scholarly organizations, including:

  • Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Walt Wolfram (English) 
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science: Jennifer Kuzma (Goodnight-North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Distinguished Professor in the School of Public and International Affairs)
  • American Antiquarian Society (AAS) National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship: Craig Friend (history)
  • American Council on Education (ACE) Fellowship: Kwesi Craig Brookins (psychology)
  • National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Fellowship: Frederico Freitas
  • National Humanities Center Fellowship: Marsha Gordon (English)
  • National Humanities Center Fellowship: Katherine Mellen Charron (history)





Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.