Skip to main content

Jeffrey Diebold Named Chair, Department of Public Administration

belltower surrounded by green leaves

NC State’s Department of Public Administration welcomes Jeffrey Diebold as chair, effective July 1, 2019. 

Jeffrey Diebold

Diebold has served at NC State since 2013 and was promoted to the rank of associate professor in 2019. He teaches graduate courses in public policy for the School of Public and International Affairs (SPIA).

Diebold’s research focuses on issues related to retirement and income security, retirement and health, and public pension finance. His work has appeared in Journals of Gerontology: Series B; Public Budgeting and Finance; Journal of Pension Economics and Finance; and Health Services Research. He earned his doctoral degree in public policy from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2012.

Diebold takes over the department’s leadership from professor Jerrell Coggburn, who served as chair with distinction for 11 years, most recently from 2012-2019. During much of his tenure, Coggburn also served as director of graduate programs.

The Department of Public Administration at NC State has been preparing professionals since 1968. The department offers two advanced degrees, a Master of Public Administration (MPA) and a Ph.D. in Public Administration.