Humanities and Social Sciences Research Committee

Organization, Duties, and Responsibilities of the Research Committee

Last revised March 26, 2018


The mission of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences Research Committee is to encourage and actively support research and scholarship in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.



One tenured or tenure-track faculty member from each department will be appointed to the committee by the department heads. Interdisciplinary studies (IDS) and each of the three college centers and institutes (CFACE, Nonprofits, and Khayrallah) may appoint a tenured or tenure-track faculty member to the committee.

Each department is encouraged, but not required, to appoint an alternate representative of the committee to attend committee meetings when the primary member of the committee cannot attend. Such alternate members are also welcome to join any committee meeting, but each department will have one vote in any given meeting.

Because the committee is required to make substantive judgments about academic quality, familiarity with research is the single most important criterion for service on the committee. Therefore, membership shall be restricted to faculty involved in research and scholarly activity. Research activity is defined as conducting, publishing, or presenting research or scholarship in the last three years, as indicated in a faculty member's CV.


Members serve three-year terms. A faculty member may request a second consecutive term; no faculty member may serve on the committee for more than six years consecutively. Departments and members may choose to serve a shorter term if they choose to do so. When a member steps down from the committee, the department head will name a new member of the committee.


The committee must meet at least twice during the academic year, once in the fall and once in the spring.

Duties and Responsibilities of the Research Committee

The duties and responsibilities of this committee shall be as follows:

  1. To promote research and scholarly excellence in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences
    1. Sponsor seminars, workshops, or other open events to showcase exemplary research and scholarship in the college
    2. Recommend programs and speakers of interest to the college, the university, and the community.
  2. To serve as a forum for the discussion of improvement and expansion of research activity.
  3. To receive and disseminate information from the Associate Dean's Office to department faculty and leadership on issues that influence research and scholarship.
    1. As needed, the committee arranges seminars for faculty members to answer questions on how to write proposals, how to use university research administration systems, and on how to find funding opportunities and submit applications.
  4. To communicate needs or problems related to research and the research environment to the Associate Dean.
  5. To, when requested, make recommendations to the Associate Dean regarding internal and external faculty awards, such as the Research Leadership Academy.
  6. To review and make recommendations, as requested, on internal funding programs, and on limited submission grant opportunities.
  7. To promote collaborative and interdisciplinary research across the college’s departments, across the university, and with other institutions.


Deliberations of the committee and discussions of research proposals are confidential. The minutes of the committee will be public, but confidential information about research projects, proposal review, and the like will not be part of the public minutes.

This document draws upon the Charter of the Research Committee at The Citadel, and Duties and Responsibilities of the Research Committee from the School of Medicine at Mercer University. We are grateful to these institutions for their permission to adopt some of the language of their documents.


2018-2019 Members





Bill Kinsella    

Adriana de Souza e Silva


Jeff Mielke

Elaine Orr

Foreign Languages & Literatures

 Rebecca Ronquest

Helga Braunbeck


David Gilmartin

Kat Charron

Philosophy & Religious Studies

John Carroll

Stephen Puryear

Political Science

Jim Zink


Shevaun Neupert

Laura Widman

Public Administration

Branda Nowell

  Jeff Diebold

Social Work

Willa Casstevens

 Jocelyn Taliaferro

Sociology & Anthropology

Melvin Thomas

 Anna Manzoni (Spring)